Breaking News FEATURED OZSPORTS N SURF Sports

Boost Mobile Pro – Gold Coast Starts Today

0 0
Read Time:2 Minute, 49 Second

COOLANGATTA, QLD/ AUS (Friday, October 2, 2020) – The World Surf League (WSL) Australian Grand Slam of Surfing series has issued a Green Alert for the Boost Mobile Pro Gold Coast, Stradbroke Island QLD, to turn this Tuesday, October 6 from 7:00 a.m. AEST which is October 5 at 2 p.m. PT/ 5 p.m. ET/6 p.m. BRT / 11 p.m. CEST. A solid E Swell has been forecast for next week with mostly favorable winds giving event organisers the perfect opportunity to run the second event of the series.

“There looks to be a great easterly trade-wind swell filling in early next week,” said Contest Director Renato Hickel. “We’ve been monitoring it closely and it’s lining up well with the South Stradbroke Island swell window. We’re confident that we should see some great waves in the three-to-six foot range over Tuesday and Wednesday with windows of light favorable winds. It’s shaping up to be another fantastic event in the WSL Countdown, in particular, the Australian Grand Slam of Surfing.”

The event will see 24 of Australia’s best surfers (12 men & 12 women) go head to head in their respective divisions. The opening heat of the event will see current Jeep Leader and two-time WSL World Champion Tyler Wright come up against Macy Callaghan & Sophie McCulloch in what is sure to be a barnstorming matchup. Adding to the high stakes, men’s and women’s overall series champions will each win $20,000 AUD to donate to a charity of their choice.

Fresh from a win at the recent Tweed Coast Pro, Ethan Ewing will be brimming with confidence when he faces off with Conor  O’Leary, and Mitch Crews in Heat 4 of Round 1.

Fresh from a win at the recent Tweed Coast Pro, Ethan Ewing will be brimming with confidence

 

Northend Boardriders Club has offered their two wildcard spots to Chris Bennetts and Sayaka Maramatsu who will have the experience of a lifetime coming up against the elite Championship Tour competitors.

Sayaka Muramatsu Northend Boardriders Club Women’s Wildcard.

The Australian Grand Slam of Surfing will run across the nation between September 1 and October 31 and be broadcasted live on worldsurfleague.com, Channel 7 (7Plus), Fox Sports Australia (Kayo) and Sky Sport NZ.

All events will be called and take place subject to State Border restrictions and COVID-19 related policies in WA, QLD, and NSW.

For more information on this and the WSL Countdown Series, please visit www.worldsurfleague.com

The Boost Mobile Pro Gold Coast couldn’t happen without the valued support of our partners including Boost Mobile, Tourism and Events Queensland, City of Gold Coast, Jeep, Bonsoy, Harvey Norman, Red Bull, Seven Network, Fox Sports Australia and Sky Sport NZ.

Boost Mobile Pro Gold Coast Women’s Round 1 Matchups: Heat 1: Tyler Wright, Macy Callaghan, Sophie McCulloch Heat 2: Stephanie Gilmore, India Robinson, Sayaka Maramatsu (WC) Heat 3: Nikki van Dijk, Zahli Kelly, Piper Harrison Heat 4: Isabella Nichols, Keely Andrew, Dimity Stoyle

Boost Mobile Pro Gold Coast Men’s Round 1 Matchups: Heat 1: Mathew McGillivray, Jack Robinson, Liam O’Brien Heat 2: Owen Wright, Stu Kennedy, Chris Bennetts (WC) Heat 3: Wade Carmichael, Mikey Wright, Soli Bailey Heat 4: Ethan Ewing, Conor O’Leary, Mitch Crews

Happy
Happy
0 %
Sad
Sad
0 %
Excited
Excited
0 %
Sleppy
Sleppy
0 %
Angry
Angry
0 %
Surprise
Surprise
0 %
Become a Sponsor